New Commission 'Rules' For In-Game UGC Sales Are Detrimental To Public Groups

As a Roblox developer it is currently too hard to make good-use of UGC sales commissions if your group is public.

The new 'rules' for awarding the commission is as follows:

If the player is the owner of the game:
No commission

Else, if the player is a member of the group if the game is a group-game:
No commission

Else:
Award commission

This was obviously done to combat people who were taking advantage of the commission for their own purchases however it hurts much more developers than these few users.

There is a glaring issue with this policy and that is that public groups that allow everyone on Roblox to join are damaged greatly by this policy. Simply being a member of the group is enough to disable the commission. As a result, as a developer I am encouraged to not allow fans to join my Roblox group which breaks one of the main-purposes of a Roblox group being to house developers and fans to a project.

If this issue is addressed, it would improve my development experience because I would be able to keep my groups public while also not worrying about missing out on commissions from players.

23 Likes

So what you’re saying is keep all groups invite only? BRUHHHHH ROBLOX STOP BREAKING STUFF!

I am genuinely astounded this made it through QA without asking for feedback from developers.

6 Likes

At least this is going to significantly cut down on those absolutely horrendous “pls donate” games where the “dev” gets paid big bucks solely on the immense amount of commission payments

Everyone else looking to abuse the commission payments to get their money back already knows to just do it between accounts (X buys items on Y’s game, Y buys items in return on X’s game)

Classic example of Roblox ignoring devs and making a terrible decision without providing any warning.

I can’t believe this is still happening, I thought Roblox promised to do better!