NumberSequence Value

As a Roblox Developer, I would benefit greatly from being able to use the Number Sequence editor for custom purposes

I think creating an object dedicated to this editor would be extremely valuable to developers. Personally I want to use it to create custom “height map multipliers” for my terrain generator, allowing me to easily create and modify terrain “profiles”. I could also see this being useful for creating difficulty curves in RPGs through things like damage modifiers or EXP modifiers, or useful to car games by letting developers create custom profiles for the initial speed increase of a car. Really, there’s tons of uses.

These could be an object that has one NumberSequence property, and then a function that takes an input number between 0 and 1 and outputs a number between 0 and 1, which would be the “Value” for the given “Time” on the current graph.

The infrastructure is already here, if this could just be added for our use I believe this would be immensely useful for many developers.

36 Likes

This is an important step to take to empower plugin developers.

Exposing certain userdata objects and their internal APIs, such as NumberSequence, and allowing plugin developers to trigger various pop-up menus such as NumberSequence editor, Color3 picker, BrickColor picker, etc would allow for a broader range of highly-interactive plugins.

We can all benefit by making plugins look apart of the native studio UI.

13 Likes

Yes please!!

Can’t you create a number sequence instance? I swear I did that before but I’m not sure.

EDIT: http://wiki.roblox.com/index.php?title=API:NumberSequence

You can already create these, no dedicated value or dragged for it however and not sure if it can be stored in an ObjectValue instance.

Can’t be stored in an ObjectValue. Somehow I thought this thread was suggesting a value object to store number sequences in.