[Open Source] EasyVR | Module to help making VR games easier

Hello Developers!

Recently I’ve been looking around for games that use VR but was disappointed to the lack of games that explored outside the “Social Sandbox” genre so I decided to create this module named “EasyVR” which is a simple module that allows you developers to create VR games without having to worry about the complicated backend stuff. I hope to see what you create!

Please note this is my first time experimenting with the VR Service and ModuleScripts so if you find any bugs or issues please reply to this post with the bug or issue and I’ll try my best to fix it.

Links

Module Source Code
Example RBXM FIie
Documentation

Updates

• 3/24/2021
    • Fixed instance attaching
    • Improved Relative axis movement
    • Added Rumbe function

Example

local User = require(script:WaitForChild("EasyVR")) --Require the module

local TestHat = game.Workspace:WaitForChild("ValkyrieHelm")

User.Create() --Create head and hands
User.AttachInstance("Head", TestHat) --Attach a instance to User (Part, Union, MeshPart or Model)
User.Run() --Run User (Hand movement and Head movement, etc)

User.ButtonPressed(function(Button) --Click a button on the controllers
	if Button == Enum.KeyCode.ButtonX then
		print("Button Pressed")
	end
end)
User.ButtonReleased(function(Button) --Release a button on the controllers
	if Button == Enum.KeyCode.ButtonX then
		print("Button Released")
	end
end)
User.SetMovementAxis("Relative") --What axis the User moves on (Recommend relative)
User.ThumbstickMoved(function(Thumbstick, X, Y) --Return thumbstick and x, y positions when moved.
	print(Thumbstick, X, Y)
end)

User.DebugMode(true) --Turns on debug mode (Allows you to see hands)
User.DisableUI() --Disable Core GUI / VR UI (Pointers, Teleporter, etc)
36 Likes

I know this is a dumb question and the answer will probably be no, but is there any way to test if the VR Mode works without owning a VR?

2 Likes