[OPEN SOURCED] Custom Terrain Height Map

I made a prototype of a custom height map generator. This is my first attempt, and I’m open to suggestions and optimizations. It’s showcased here in this video:
Enjoy the satisfying blocks.

NEW VERSION THAT IS OPEN SOURCED:

The generation speed was significantly decreased for the purpose of this video. I’m not sure whether I’ll actually do anything with it, but I’m still pretty happy with how it came out.

Here’s the source:

52 Likes

You should share source code, then!

What’s the general algorithm? Random assignment of pixels followed by some sort of blur (like, averaging all pixels within 4 blocks of a point)?

It’s cool that it works in chunks which is always nice if you want to have the map expand gradually.

That’s exactly how it works. I actually improved it recently with settings that can add more random splotches of color. The code itself could be cleaned up a tad, but I could open source it I guess. I had the idea to turn it into an island generator thing for some kind of ambitious game I know I’ll never finish.

1 Like

I just made it SO much better by smearing the colors randomly instead of in an order. It does all parts but in a random order!

And it’s done! Packed with settings for each and every detail.
https://www.roblox.com/catalog/02853081462/redirect

2 Likes

I’d imagine that a chunkloader would significantly improve this, if you are going to use it.
EDIT: Moved topic to Community Resources because it’s now a tool.

Update: Found old code that caused the script to error; fixed.

Here’s the new version compared to the original video:

1 Like