Optimizing TOWER DEFENDERS

T’sup fellow devs! :grin: Owner & creator of Tower Defenders here. Some gameplay footage

I’ve been a dev for a very long time on Roblox and yet still I learn new things every day. I’ve seen the platform grow and become more optimized. And I’m proud to be here and I look forward to Roblox’s success even after I’m gone.

I’ve come to accept and learn that Roblox’s engine isn’t particularly strong when it comes to graphical optimization. At least in contrast to say games on Steam (or other gaming platforms) with; photo-realistic scenes, ultra high resolution texturing, super high poly models with silky smooth high FPS animations, immersive and high quality particles, life-like stunning lighting, etc, etc.
But then you play Roblox… I mean we genuinely don’t even have a heat/fire distortion effect lol.

But back to Tower Defenders. I genuinely I believe that I’ve striven to push the boundaries of graphics in the Tower Defense genre on Roblox. And I can confidently say no other Tower Defense game (to my knowledge) even comes close to the amount of graphic quality Tower Defenders has.

And yet it has it’s faults, low-end PCs and mobile devices are almost completely excluded from this game as they just aren’t powerful enough to run it at intensive points in the game.
And yet I have spent an unhealthy amount of time trying to improve and optimize my game. Almost as much time as I’ve spent creating content. This is of course in part my fault (arguable on how much), but I’m also restricted to how optimized and powerful the Roblox engine is.

So, with that tangent stated, any suggestions on optimization?

How do I make a very high quality Tower Defense game optimized for all devices seamlessly?

Maybe try adding some settings for quality so that the player will be able to toggle various options off such as bloom, decreased particles ect. This will allow lower end devices to be able to run the game and increase user experience.

4 Likes