Parkour, Custom gun system, server-sided viewmodels, and more!

This post is about my movement FPS game which i recently started work on, however have already made decent progress, I will show my custom 3D GUI, basic movement system, and gun system

PARKOUR/MOVEMENT SYSTEM
while my parkour system is still a very big work in progress I have the basics, Mantling/Wall Climbing, and Wall hopping.

This system uses ray casts to look for walls and if the player should mantle, wall hop, or do nothing.

Video:

CUSTOM GUN SYSTEM USING FAST CAST
This was quite hard for me because i’m quite new to raycasts, however fastcast really helped me create a pretty nice system. It currently has reloading, and a whole settings module im working on for easier use later on. (not done at all). Gun model place holder.

*Slightly old video

SERVER-SIDED VIEWMODELS
While this isn’t anything spectacular, I find that most roblox FPS games have a viewmodel animation and tool animation, but why not make the viewmodel on the server? I saves alot of time while looking even better.

(screen shot from server, not client)

FINALLY, CUSTOM 3D GUI
Every game uses gui, however, I find that 3d gui looks and feels smoother, so I made my own, and I am terrible at gui and it was my first time ever making surface guis really. (not completely done, also scales on devices which is quite hard to do with surface guis)

Image:

I am open to any suggestions or feedback on what i should change or add, also a game name idea would be nice.

• its amazing
  • its cool
  • its alright
  • its terrible

0 voters

1 Like

Not really the best as there is too much jittering going on and I find it weird how the player jumps when vaulting and he animations overall look very janky. I suggest fixing them but other than these things, it looks amazing! Good job!