Pathfinding Vehicle - How would it work?

So, I’m working on an AI traffic system. I’m using an A* pathfinding module, but that really shouldn’t change anything.

Currently I’ve just added a humanoid to the vehicle and made it move to a certain position, this works, but isn’t enough for a vehicle. I want my vehicle to actually steer, and accelerate / brake to get to the next point. I’m using Roblox’s new Racing Template which I grabbed the vehicle from.

I’m really new to this stuff, and don’t know how I’d even start with making the vehicle drive. I want it to drive similar to as it would if a player was driving it. So if the max speed was 10, I wouldn’t want it to go over that, and all that stuff.

Here’s a snippet my current code which makes the vehicle walk to the next point.

if (path) then
		table.insert(path, 1, start)
		table.insert(path, goal)
		local pathfolder = Instance.new("Folder", workspace)
		pathfolder.Name = "VisualPath"
		for i = 2,#path do
			local p1 = path[i - 1] -- P1 is where the vehicle is located (last waypoint)
			local p2 = path[i] -- P2 is where it needs to go.

humNPC:MoveTo(p2) -- Makes the humanoid walk to P2
			humNPC.MoveToFinished:Wait() -- Waits, and loops again so it walks to the next point.
		end
	else
		warn("Failed to find Path.")
	end

What it currently looks like:

How would I get the vehicle to even move (like it would with a player controlling it) in the first place?

You can create an algorithm using Roblox’s physics.
(Instead of directly using :MoveTo(), use LinearVelocity, for example.)

• The car slowly accelerates and decelerates, like in a real car. Think of how a human would drive a car and design the algorithm to create an AI that imitates a human being.
  • The AI should know where to slow down, and where to speed up to a certain speed, like when it’s making a turn, it should slow down, whereas when it’s going straight on a normal road, it should speed up to 40-50mph for example.