Procedurally Animated Active Ragdolls (dynamic motion synthesis)

Hello, this is my first time posting on the DevForum so please do correct me if I am incorrect.

I have been scratching my head off for weeks on possible ways I could somehow implement an Active Ragdoll system or Dynamic Motion Synthesis Simulation for a more realistic feel and better immersion when viewing player models.

Here is a video demonstrating Euphoria Engine Physics ^^^

So far, I have tested out some methods such as utilising an IKPF system to sort of fake this engine’s behaviour, however this has resulted in a not so authentic experience in comparison to its original. I have also tried to use inverse kinematics to move and exert a force using the player model’s legs to sort of physically simulate the walking process of the Active Ragdoll, however that did not work as my bipedal player model turned into the greatest Michael Jackson revive and pulled a depressing moon walk.

Here is another great video showcasing the same Euphoria Engine by visualising it’s capability of creating smooth procedurally animated ragdoll animations in real-time.

It would mean a lot to me if anybody is able to explain some concepts or methods I could utilise to recreate this flawless work of scripting on roblox studio.

3 Likes

You could reproduce this effect by manipulating bones or Motor6Ds (which you have to add to the player character yourself) and once hit, release a ragdoll effect with some stiffness, you could even add some procedural animations based on which part of the player was hit to further add realism

2 Likes

Yes, this is the method which I have been using, however, my main problem with this is figuring out how to make the character balance itself while utilising the procedural animation system.