Projectile Compensation? (fastcast)

So i’m new to client/serverside replication so bare with me, I could have the complete wrong idea so please correct me if i’m doing this all wrong.

So currently I’m using a module called fastcast, I create a projectile on the client, fire an event immediately after for the server to also create it’s own projectile to decide if it was a hit and deduct the amount of damage needed, The issue i’m having is they are wildly out of sync, If you shoot the projectile while moving in any direction the client will be way ahead of the server in all directions, how do I go about syncing them up?

4 Likes

You can get the character’s speed and direction using AssemblyLinearVelocity, then add this to the position of the projectile’s origin.

local firePoint = gun.FirePoint.Position  --source of the projectile
local characterVelocity = character.HumanoidRootPart.AssemblyLinearVelocity / 3   --divide by 3 otherwise it would be too big (trial and error to get the right number)

fastcast:Fire(firePoint + characterVelocity, direction, bulletSpeed, rayBehavior)
1 Like

Wouldn’t it be different every single time for every different ping though?

1 Like

When you send over the attack to the server, you should send data so the server can exactly replicate it.

For example, in your case, you would ideally send the initial fire position, the fire direction, and the fire time, then on the server make a projectile at the fire position going in the fire direction but have it skip ahead so that it lines up with the fire time.

So if the server gets a remote event saying the shot was fired 200 ms ago, it would skip ahead 200 ms of the shot’s arc so they’re synced up.

(Also make sure to sanity check, so if the time difference is too much (aka lag or exploiting) it just ignores the shot and tells the client who shot to ignore it too.)

2 Likes

This works perfectly though i’m trying to figure out how i’d move it 200 ms ahead if that was the case,