Properly Scaling Main GUI

I’m working on the main menu for my game, and as I was doing this I was of course learning new things and what not. At first I had the problem of the screen; when made larger made my menu stretch. By reading through the Wiki I discovered UIAspectRatioConstraint, which seemed to fix the menu-stretching issue.

But now two things are happening:

• The menu doesn’t resize to scale to the screen, I have made all of the elements scaleable and not offset using percents, but it won’t scale?

• The menu doesn’t stay in the centre of the screen, it stays relative to the left side, and does not move.

I realize I’m probably making some dumb development mistakes, I’m rather new to the UI development world…

Any help would be hugely appreciated!

5 Likes

Check out my UI Design Starter Guide for a general tutorial on UI design. Sounds like it might be helpful.

All you need to do to make something scale at the size of the screen is set the size to {1,0},{1,0}.

If the menu is being affected by a UIAspectRatioConstraint, the constrain will almost certainly be the thing affecting the size. For example, a 1:1 (square) ratio probably won’t fit into your average 1080p monitor.

Other constraints may be affecting it also; a UIPaddingConstraint could actually decrease how large {1,0},{1,0} is, a UISizeConstraint could be setting a maximum/minimum size, etc.

In my tutorial I cover AnchorPoints. This should be what you use.

Are you trying to get something to cover the whole screen, or just cover a certain portion of the screen across different sized screens?

3 Likes

Thanks for the reply!

I’ve attached screenshots to better display what my objective is.
03 PM

I would like this menu to be centered, and become larger/smaller depending on the screen size, but maintaining proper ratio so that the images do not become distorted.

I’m going to review your guide and hopefully try your suggestion of AnchorPoints.

2 Likes