Random from Dictionary

Hey,
so basically I’m new to dictionaries and tables and I ran into a problem with them So what is it the easiest wat for getting a random item from the dictionary:
Here is the dictionary:

local flowers = {

commons = {
	game:GetService("ReplicatedStorage").Lily, 		
	game:GetService("ReplicatedStorage").Rose,
	game:GetService("ReplicatedStorage").Dandelion
}

}
I tryed flowers.commons[math.rad(0,3)] but it seams to return nil.
Is it any way to get random item from commons or if should I make it different so it will work.
Thanks

1 Like
local Table = {1,2,3}

local Random = math.random(1,#Table)
local RandomNumber = Table[Random]

This is just a example, you need change it to your dictionary.

2 Likes

math.rad doesn’t get you a random number, but you can use Random to do that. You’ll need to set the Random seed at the start of your script so it’s properly random, but you were pretty close with your method.

The previous method was math.random, but this has some flaws which using Random solves.

local randomGen = Random.new()
(your other code here)
flowers.commons[randomGen:NextInteger(0,3)]
5 Likes

I forgot about the Random method, and yea he should use it :sweat_smile:

3 Likes

This is not the same as OP is asking, OP is referring to dictionaries

Example of a dictionary:

local dictionary = {
    ["Item1"] = game:GetService("ReplicatedStorage").Lily,
    ["Item2"] = game:GetService("ReplicatedStorage").Rose,
}

As far as getting a random one from the bunch, I believe you’d have to set it up like so:

commons = {
	["Lily"] = game:GetService("ReplicatedStorage").Lily, 		
	["Rose"] = game:GetService("ReplicatedStorage").Rose,
	["Dandelion"] = game:GetService("ReplicatedStorage").Dandelion
}
commonsTable = {"Lily", "Rose", "Dandelion"}

local randomFlower = commons[commonsTable[math.random(#commonsTable)]]
print(randomFlower.Name)
23 Likes

Thanks, it works like a charm. Next time i will think a bit for another solution :slight_smile: