Random String Generator

For some reason, Roblox doesnโ€™t allow you to generate a random string without using a script. To save you some time, I have created one for you:

Example:

local module = require(script.RandomStringGen)
local key = module.Stringify(20, 3)
print(key)

Explanation:

This module consists of two parts:

1. The first integer value specifies the desired length of the string (in this case, it is set to 20).

2. The second integer value determines the composition of the string. Here are the available options:
    1 = Uppercase letters only
    2 = Uppercase and lowercase letters only
    3 = Uppercase letters, lowercase letters, and numbers

Thatโ€™s all! Please let me know if you encounter any issues or have any suggestions.

Link: RandomStringGen - Roblox

This is my first time making a post like this so please leave constructive criticism

12 Likes

What is the use case for this?

5 Likes

I personally use it as a Discord to Roblox verifier (kinda like bloxlink.) Itโ€™s extremally useful for generating one-time keys.

2 Likes

sometimes you just make things for fun :man_shrugging:

9 Likes

Just by looking at the source code, this is a lot longer than it has to be. Realistically, itโ€™s as simple as this:

local ValidCharacters = {"a", "b", "c", "d", "e", "f", "g", "h", "i", "j", "k", "l", "m", "n", "o", "p", "q", "r", "s", "t", "u", "v", "w", "x", "y", "z", "A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", "H", "I", "J", "K", "L", "M", "N", "O", "P", "Q", "R", "S", "T", "U", "V", "W", "X", "Y", "Z", "0", "1", "2", "3", "4", "5", "6", "7", "8", "9"}
local String = ``
for i = 1, len do
	String = String..ValidCharacters[math.random(1,#ValidCharacters)]
end
4 Likes

very true, I should probably update my random generator to use this as well.

3 Likes

I have shortened this resource down to two lines of code:

local http = game:FindService("HttpService")
local str = http:GenerateGUID()
4 Likes