Realistically throwing an object

I am a newbie to anything physics-related and not particularly special at math so I just wanted to ask how I could create an actually good throwing effect from one position to another position?

(good is subjective but just assume I mean that it should be convincing of real physics)

It would be from one position vector/CFrame to another like shown below, think of it as a specific position vector in front of the hand to the center of the other’s torso.

I am not trying to rely too hard on Roblox physics as I want to adapt this for ranged weapons as well like a catapult or bow & arrow. I might consider BodyForces or anything like that however.

I would like to NOT rely on public modules even if FastCast helps me in this scenario. I wouldn’t know how to do anything like this otherwise if I had to rely on a module.

5 Likes

Well… I don’t actually understand what your question is. I think I do, but I want to make sure.
You are asking the devforum to provide you with a subjectively good method of throwing objects, that relies on non Robloxian, realistic physics, without making use of widely shared and recommended modules that already exist? You also want to do all this without an extensive knowledge of Physics, CFraming Maths etc??? It seems to me that you are asking for the goose that lays the golden egg. Unfortunately, realistic physics is difficult, because it emulates nature. And maths and nature are two things that are very very complicated when put together.
BUT I am editing this answer to continue the thought and actually provide you with some good resources.
Here are the resources.

this next bit not so relevant, but still semi relevant
PhysicalProperties

And, I know you don’t particularly want to go the route of FastCasting, but Raycasting is pretty useful for what you are doing.
and of course
Collision Detection
These are just the basics, and things such as BodyThrusts and BodyMovers are also helpful in certain instances.