Saving tables in datastore2?

I’d like to save a table of character part names and stuff in datastore2.
I’m honestly clueless of how to properly save and load the tables. I’m rather new to datastore2.

Any suggestions or examples are highly appreciated, thanks for reading!

6 Likes

You save tables the same way you save any other data. And loading as well. Tables are no different to any other types that can be saved (e.g strings)

1 Like
local DataStore2 = require(script.Parent:WaitForChild("DataStore2"))
DataStore2.Combine("Table")

local DefaultTable = {Value = 0}

game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(Player)
	local PlayerTableValue = {Value = 0}
	local TableStorage = DataStore2("Table", Player)
	local function Update(NewTable)
		PlayerTableValue = NewTable
		print(PlayerTableValue.Value)
	end
	local Table = Update(TableStorage:GetTable(DefaultTable))
	TableStorage:OnUpdate(Update)
	if Table then
		print(Table.Value)
	end
end)

I tried this and it did not work.

1 Like

You don’t need to use :GetTable(), you can just save it exactly the same as anything else.
Like how you would save a NumberValue with :Get() and :Set(), you use the same with a table. You can use :GetTable(), but I see no need.

1 Like
		local CharTable = {
			HairColor = nil,
			SkinColor = "Test",
		}
		local function OnUpdate(NewTable)
			CharTable = NewTable
		end
		local CharacterStorage = Ds2("Character", Player)
		OnUpdate(CharacterStorage:Get({}))
		CharacterStorage:OnUpdate(OnUpdate)

I used this, but it didn’t work.

2 things!

First, when you use :Get() with a table, you don’t need to have {} inside, you can just leave it blank.
Secondly, the way you save could over-save, instead of saving it when you change it, save it when the player leaves, when the server shutsdown with game:BindToClose(), and every 100-200 seconds. Like:

local CharTable = {
    HairColor = nil,
    SkinColor = "Test"
}

local CharacterStorage = Ds2("Character", Player)