Securing your anticheat: Common bad practices, and how powerful are exploiters (+ Guide on Handshakes)

Hello fellow Roblox Developers!

As an anticheat developer, I often saw games that had awful anticheats practices.
This really frustrates me, as a developer, to see beautiful games being ruined by exploiters.

:warning: Warning: This post is for developers that already have a client and server anticheat.

Table of Contents

Common bad practices

1: :no_entry: Using :FireServer or :InvokeServer to signal to the server the client is being tampered with

In the majority of games, I kept seeing in opensource exploit scripts (and even in an AntiCheat from Community Resources!) that the anticheat system used a Simple Ban Remote that once fired, often wipes the player’s progress, and/or just straight up bans the player

It’s a very bad practice as it can just be bypassed by this simple code snippet:

local DummyRemote = Instance.new("RemoteEvent") --> Or RemoteFunction if the anticheat uses a RemoteFunction
local ACRemote = Path["To"].AntiCheat["Remote"]

local OldFireServer; OldFireServer = hookfunction(DummyRemote.FireServer, newcclosure(function(self, ...) --> Or :InvokeServer if the anticheat uses a RemoteFunction
    if rawequal(self, ACRemote) then --> Safely checks if self is the AntiCheat remote
        return --> Return nothing (Doesn't fire the remote)
    end

return OldFireServer(self, ...)
end))

Instead, use a remotefunction to signal to the server the client is being tampered with!
You should use a remotefunction instead since exploiters won’t be able to spy on it, except on the beta version of synapse, preventing a large number of script developers from spying on the anticheat remote.

You can set it to an OnClientInvoke callback and the server will regularly check that the client isn’t being tampered with:

-- ClientSide
local IsClientTampered = false

-- Blah blah detections
task.spawn(function()
    while true do