Studio should not attempt to create a desktop shortcut every time it updates

As a Roblox developer, I access Roblox Studio via the Start menu on Windows or I just open a file directly. I don’t really use my desktop, and I prefer it that way. However, Roblox Studio creates a new desktop shortcut every time it updates on Windows 10, and I have to delete it every time since I prefer my desktop clean.

It would be great if there could be a setting (preferably one that defaults to false, unless there is evidence that more people prefer it generating a shortcut than not) that determines whether Studio creates a shortcut on the desktop whenever Studio updates.

If Roblox can address this issue, I would not need to delete the shortcut every week after Studio updates.

216 Likes

I’ve lately been needing to delete the Studio shortcut off my desktop. I don’t recall Studio updates creating a new shortcut until the last half of last year.

24 Likes

This is seriously starting to infuriate me, together with that shortcut in the start menu.

I use CloneTrooper1019’s Roblox Studio Mod Manager on a daily basis and the issue is that the Windows’ search function first checks the desktop and start for its results, meaning I have to find and delete 4 shortcuts every time a small update is released. Of which 2 just open the browser and the other 2 are for a program I don’t even want

18 Likes

I can’t stress enough how annoying it is to have to delete the shortcut everytime Roblox updates. Creating desktop shortcuts should be an opt-in feature.

21 Likes

This has to stop immediately!

Not only does Roblox attempt to create a desktop shortcut every time it updates, it also resets my pin on the Start menu.

This is extremely frustrating and repetitive, I have deleted the shortcut at least over 100 times at this point.

20 Likes

We’re in 2022 and Studio still forces a shortcut on my desktop every time I open it after an update. Any update on this? Is there a setting to disable this?