Terrain Path With A* Pathfinding

1. I want to make a tower defense game where the enemies pathfind along a terrain path using A*. Something like what crazyman32 does in this video:

ROBLOX Terrain Path With Pathfinding

1. What is the issue? I don’t actually know how to do the A* pathfinding. I am new to A* pathfinding and I havent found any roblox tutorials or sample scripts to help me out. Any sample scripts or links to tutorials would be greatly appreciated.

2. I have tried using Region3 read voxels to find the terrain voxels of the right material but I don’t know how to do any of the A* stuff or where to start.

local region = Region3.new(Vector3.new(0,0,0), Vector3.new(512,1,512)) -- The region in workspace that is being scanned
region = region:ExpandToGrid(4) -- Expanding the region be voxel sized
--game.Workspace.Terrain:FillRegion(region, 4, Enum.Material.Brick)

local material, occupancy = game.Workspace.Terrain:ReadVoxels(region, 4) -- Reading the terrain voxels
local size = material.Size
local nodes = {} -- The table of terrain nodes for A* pathfinding?
for x = 1, size.X do -- Loop through X,Y,Z Directions for terrain stuff
	for y = 1, size.Y do 
		for z = 1, size.Z do
			if material[x][y][z] == Enum.Material.WoodPlanks then
				-- A* stuff?
				print("Material at (", x, y, z, "): ", material[x][y][z])
				print("Occupancy at (", x, y, z, "): ", occupancy[x][y][z])
--				table.insert(nodes, Something?)
				wait() 
			end
		end
	end
end
2 Likes

Why you not try to see how A* actually work normally, then convert it in Lua? Here is a good Link: Introduction to the A* Algorithm

I hope it can help you @TSevik.

1 Like