Tree bark material request

Hello,
I’m requesting a new material, a tree bark material.
Today as a builder I have to cheat using “Slate” to fake the roughness of the tree’s bark but its still not looking like it should be… Of course there is “Wood”, but it’s too smooth and belongs to planks and man made buildings.

Using Meshpart’s texture isn’t the right thing either, the texture looks smooth, Materials has normal/bump map + few more that makes it a “Material”, feels more alive than just a smooth flat texture on top of the meshes.

“Wood” --too smooth.

“Slate” --not wood, but has the roughness.

Instead having a material like this Oak wood would be great:

Or a bit more soft like birch wood
This would be awesome to enhance game’s nature assets and a smart addition to the material palette.

Thanks !

63 Likes

Support.

Use cases besides just trees? This seems like something you should be using a texture for.

2 Likes

Same use case as every other material roblox has added, simplicity and making things more approachable.
Not everyone should have to be a texture designer.

Support, would improve building for a lot of us on the platform.

9 Likes

I feel like @WoodReviewer would strongly approve of this feature. As for me, even though I’m not a builder, I know for a fact that this would help builders thus, I support this feature.

5 Likes

There are a lot of materials that could be added for any use case. I feel like Roblox should just let us upload custom materials instead of having to use textures on every side of an object - which eventually causes lag and can mess with transparency. I don’t support this because it’s pretty niche I feel, but something which would allow the upload of custom materials would be perfect.

14 Likes

that would be the best scenario !

Textures as of now don’t come with normal and bump maps like materials do. Also, we’d have to make one for each mesh with a different UV map.