Trying to learn scripting as a Modeler/Builder

About me

I am a Roblox Modeler, Modeler Builder, and RS Builder

What this is about

I’m looking to learn how to script and I wanted to know how Scripters today learned how to Script. That way I could learn pretty well or learn from others on how to learn semi-quick and or really well.

Contacts

If you’d like to talk more about this personally or by easier access you can contact me through Discord or Twitter.

Discord: @EnDark#8707
Twitter: @EnDarkOfficial

11 Likes

Hey!

Roblox Wiki was personally very helpful for me. I was looking through these hard tutorials and trying to see how they work line by line. Then I could understand their logic and easily modify and/or recreate.
I was also experimenting on my own. I had learned a lot of shortcuts and more efficient ways of handling things. Really helpful stuff by my opinion.

At the end I have learned the best scripting techniques such as Object Oriented Programming which really makes everything easier if you can think logically to understand programming.

It is hard to call it “learning programming”. It is more like training to make your head think more in programming way. It should be skilled in predicting bugs and creating algorithms. Learning certain patterns does not help you with anything until fully understanding them.

10 Likes

There are a few ways to learn how to script. I do minor scripting, I learned most of this by watching YouTube videos about the basics. There are other ways, such as some ROBLOX games. The one below is my main sorce if I am having trouble. Although, when I first used it, it did cost R$. That was a while back so I am not sure if it still costs R$ or the same amount.

10 Likes

Honestly, the only advantage of knowing how to build is knowing Studio’s interface well and maybe a bit of hierarchy.

Personally, my first language was actually Javascript. Lua is a perfect starter as well though.