UI Positioning For Dummies | Using Anchor Points Effectively, Common Mistakes, Basic Layouts & More!

Introduction

Hello! I’m a UI Designer of 4 years on ROBLOX, I’d consider myself experienced enough to manipulate my UI just the way I want it.

In this post, I’ll be teaching you how to properly position each element within your UI with the magic of anchor points, scalar and offset, and some special UI objects that assist you with it!

Of course, you’d need to have some knowledge regarding UI to fully understand these demonstrations and there are many tutorials on YouTube and posts on the DevForum that should be able to get you up to speed!

What Are Anchor Points, How Do They Work? How Should I Use Them?

Anchor Points are essentially the origin of your frame’s position, here’s what I mean.

As you can see in the image below, there are 8 dots in total surrounding the square frame, these aren’t as important as the Anchor Point; they are handles to resize the frame. What you should be looking at however is the darker outlined dot, encircled with red.

That dot is ROBLOX Studio visualizing the Anchor Point, the reason why it’s in the top left corner is because the default Anchor Point is {0, 0}.

Highlighted in red is the Anchor Point property

This means if we positioned it, it would be relative to the top left point’s position, because that is the Anchor Point and as I’ve mentioned before the origin of your frame’s position.

Let’s move the frame to {0, 0}, {0, 0}, otherwise known as the top left of a user’s screen.
This should make the Anchor Point go to the very top left corner, as it in itself is positioned at the top left of the frame.