UI Design and the Fundamentals

Introduction

Greetings, I am a UI Designer & Logo Designer off-site and on-site. I have been designing for roughly seven years. I've worked on many websites, apps, games, and more. I've taken on creating tutorials and guides for upcoming and talented designers alike. You can find some of my work on my profile!

UI Designing has many principles and rules to follow, which I've learned my designers don't know. I've met and helped many designers and have had to help them with the same thing repeatedly! Hence the decision to make a tutorial to help everyone.

Tools and Softwares for designing

• Paid Programs and Tools
    ∘ Adobe Programs | Illustrator, Photoshop, XD
    ∘ Sketch
    ∘ InVision Studio

• Free Alternatives
    ∘ Figma
    ∘ FramerX (up to three projects)

(Illustrator is my preferred program for most of my designing)

What is UI Design?

UI design in general according to the Interaction Design Foundation is, "the process designers use to build interfaces in software or computerized devices, focusing on looks or style. Designers aim to create interfaces which users find easy to use and pleasurable." which in short means the process which designers create interfaces for consumers and users to interact with.

What is UX Design?

Before we dive in further, I would like to go over UX design. User Experience designing is the backend side of designing, though they go hand in hand. UX Designers typically deal with things like User Research, Problem Solving, and basically how the user will interact/experience the interface. These are things that you should be considering while designing the interface as well.

Asset 2@2x

The Principles of UI Design

Visibility

Although it might sound simple, visibility in design is often an issue seen in many interfaces. Optimizing your designs will likely have to kind some context, such as large bodies of text or weapon statistics behind buttons, to make the UI more visible and accessible.