Vinegar - The Better Way to Run Roblox on Linux

What is Vinegar?

Vinegar is a new solution for running Roblox on Linux that is designed both for complete novices and avid tinkerers. It has a friendly configuration system, thorough documentation, active development, and a tidy codebase in a modern language.

Why not Grapejuice? (or another solution)?

My cofounder @sjalvmordsvalsen (who programmed the majority of the project) and I actually spent significant time using the Grapejuice project. In fact, I maintain and develop the Flatpak distribution of Grapejuice. However, we felt that its codebase and user interface was overly complex: a brand new, well-planned, and minimalist project was truly what people needed! As a result, Vinegar is designed without a UI so that tinkerers can easily focus on configuring their setups and new players can have an experience identical to on Windows.

What does Vinegar include?

Vinegar’s primary features include:

• RCO patchset for seriously improved performance.
  • Fully open-source and reproducible Flatpak with Wine 8.4 bundled.
  • Active development and support
  • Optional FPS unlocker (axstin)
  • Renderer selection between DX11, Vulkan, and OpenGL.
  • Easy-to-understand configuration system
  • A single Go executable to handle all file associations.

A full list can be found on our github page.

That’s nice, how do I get started?

You can either install the flatpak, which includes everything out of the box and will run Roblox immediately after installation, or compiling from source by running make all after cloning the github repo.

After installation, you can play roblox by launching from the browser as normal or by launching Roblox App or Roblox Studio from your system’s program launcher.

Edit (2024): Those looking for the recent completed hardware survey report should see this post.

Have any Questions?

82 Likes

Seems cool, would like to see some sort of benchmark between the grapejuice and this though.

6 Likes