Weight (chance system) always being 100%

ModuleScript:

return {
	Weight = 0,

Chances = { --Chances ranging from 1 to 20 : 20 being highest and 1 being lowest
		["Prize1"] = 2, --2 out of 20 being a 10% chance
		["Prize2"] = 1, --1 out of 20 being a 5% chance
		["Prize3"] = 20, --20 out of 20 being a 100% chance
	},
}

Server:

math.randomseed(os.time())
Variables.Weight=0

for _, odds in Variables.Chances do
	Variables.Weight += odds

if Variables.Weight >= math.random(1, Variables.Weight) then
		print(_) --This always prints because Variables.Weight is always larger than the random value - I don't know what is wrong because I've never done this before and I copied line for line (just changing the references) from several other devforum posts and none of it works.
	end
end

The result is that Prize1, Prize2 and Prize3 get printed always meaning, no matter the chance, they will get called up. Why?

2 Likes

You are doing if 20 >= random(1,20) it will be always bigger because the code sees this
if 20 bigger then or equal to 1-20 then do this end

3 Likes

Yep how do I fix this? The devforum posts I read are doing it that way but they’re getting results and I’m not. Could it be, maybe, because I’m black?

2 Likes

Well, math.random(1, Variables.Weight) generates a random integer from 1 to Variables.Weight, inclusive, so the greater than or equal condition will always be true.

There are multiple methods for picking from a weighted table.

If your weights are (and will always be) all integers, you could add a number of copies of the items equal to their weight into an array and pick a random item from the array like this:

local selector = {}
for item, weight in pairs(weightedTable) do
	for i = 1, weight do
		table.insert(selector, item)
	end
end

local random = selector[math.random(1, #selector)]

Alternatively, if you want to use non-integer weights, here’s a function I have:

function SelectRandomKeyFromWeightedTable(tab)
	local totalWeight = 0