Why are Release Notes released late?

This was something I think I noticed subconsciously, but I became aware of this issue today.
I realized we hadn’t received a release note lately, despite knowing Roblox tends to update on a weekly basis.

Today there were three release notes posted at the same time, catching ourselves up to the latest version of the game client as of this post (except for the mobile client which should be released next week if on schedule)

My concern is that this means our last release notes were posted about three weeks ago (these two were also posted around the same time instead of a regular interval)

When we have potentially breaking changes that are planned to occur soon, having these release notes is extremely important for developers to have to know if/when these types of changes can be live. Here are a few potentially breaking changes that we have seen in these last three releases or will see in the next three weeks:

As a developer, I would like to know when these types of updates are live from a single source of truth.

Having to catch up on almost a months worth of releases all at once is a lot to consume all at once.
Is there any chance that we can have these release notes be as regular as the releases themselves?

21 Likes

It’d be nice if they enabled chrome notifications for the release log so we could know immediately.

2 Likes

This is a bit annoying how we’ll go weeks without any new release notes.

The release notes that haven’t been posted in the forum are sometimes available in the developer website. The staff probably just wants to make sure that the updates are accurate since most of the developer website is automated …? :confused: