A Better Random Number Generator

As a Roblox developer, it is currently too hard to create truly random numbers.
The current pseudo random number generator math.random() has many issues. Even when using a randomseed, the generated numbers are not always pseudo random, and there are some bugs in which duplicate results are returned.

If Roblox is able to address your issue, how would it improve your game and/or your development experience?
In a modern game, random number generation is used quite frequently for things such as choosing random maps, rewards, players, damage, and many other things. As a developer, I need a random number generator that I know is really random. We owe it to the players to provide random results that are as random as possible.

Surely with all your expertise, and with so many proven implementations of random number generators, Roblox should be able to upgrade the math.random() function to something better.

25 Likes

We’re working on this.

46 Likes

@Fractality_alt

2 Likes

OwO

Looking forward to this

3 Likes

Here’s the gist:

1. We’re exposing a Random class with discrete state and a high-quality algorithm.
  2. We’re giving math.random a better (platform-independent) algorithm and per-script state.

Here’s a Fisher-Yates shuffle using the new API

local rng = Random.new()

local function Shuffle(t)
	for i = #t, 2, -1 do
		local j = rng:NextInteger(1, i)
		t[j], t[i] = t[i], t[j]
	end
end

I’ll make an announcement post with more details when the time comes (eta <= 1 mo). Feel free to voice any questions/comments/concerns.

34 Likes

What kind of methods/properties will the new Random API have?

Will Random class API be accessible with intellisense?

Yeah, it works with intellisense.

For sure! This needs to be added. My game, even with math.randomseed(tick()), the spin system will keep spinning the same magic abilities in the same order when you rejoin.