Accessory Based Items, Clothing & Addons. [UPDATED]

Introduction

Hi there, my name is TreySoWavvy and I am an LUA Programmer and a 3D Modeler.
I have noticed a lot of new/old developers are switching over from 2D to 3D aspects in their gameplay such as 3D armor, holstered weaponry, and other addons to make their characters pop. This is a tutorial on the 2 methods I use for offsetting models from the body of the character. This can be used in a variety of applications from FPS games to Fantasy RPG ones (in other words my game and most likely yours) Below are some examples of the applications:

• Weapons meant to be visible on the body (swords, pistols, lightsabers)
  • Custom 3D Armor & Clothing. (Attack on Titan Cloaks for example)
  • Addons / Accessories for aesthetics (holsters, bandages around the arm, etc)

The Concept
I want you to remember that there are two types of Accessories: Static and Dynamic.

• Static Accessories (Welds): Don’t move and welded in place until changed. Good for clothing and other addons that arent meant to be moved or manipulated directly.
  • Dynamic Accessories (Motor6Ds): DO move and are meant to be manipulated directly. Good for weapons that can move, slide, and rotate while attached to the body. (i.e a sword being gripped by a player.)

Understanding Accessories And How They Work
Accessories are an instance that attaches a premade model to the body at a fixed offset determined by 2 Attachment Instances. 1 Attachment is owned by the Accessory itself, and the other is owned by the instance the Accessory is Attaching itself too. The prime example would be a hat and the character wearing it. Roblox will then automatically generate a Weld Instance using those two Attachments as C0 and C1 offsets, essentially doing the work for you.
NOTE: This automation only applies to Static Accessories, I will provide a method to doing this with Dynamic ones

Initial Setup | Manipulating Attachments In Rigs