Allow teleportation to private servers

As a Roblox developer, I cannot teleport players to a private server (Not a reserved server via the API, I am referencing private servers created on the website), even if it’s initiated from the server and if the owner is one of the users I’m attempting to teleport (It throws an unauthorized error message).

It would benefit me greatly (And I believe other developers would benefit from this too) if Roblox carved out an exception for the teleport API, so that if the server’s owner is in the list of players to teleport, the request is authorized.

This would allow me to teleport players back to their respective private servers v. putting them in a public server/reserved server after teleporting them to a different game in the universe.

34 Likes

Whitelisted players and friends should also be able to teleport without the owner in the player table.

Authorization should mimic functionality from the website

12 Likes

The client should be allowed to teleport to a Private Server if and only if they have access to it.

This could be paired with an API to get a game’s private servers as a Pages object

TeleportService:GetPrivateServersForPlayer(...)
7 Likes

Thanks for this feedback - we’ll make sure it gets to the team working on private servers.

12 Likes

I really don’t agree with the cases of this only working under the conditions discussed above such as players needing to be given some explicit access to the private servers (be the owner, be friend of the owner, be on access list) because this doesn’t account for VIP links. There’s a lot of users on the site who utilize VIP server links and players who join may not meet any of that criteria. I’m not saying developers should be able to teleport anyone to your VIP server, but if a user joined through a link and that link is still the same then you should be able to teleport them to it.

1 Like