BytExecutor v1.4.0: A simple, free, and intuitive in-studio code executor

This plugin has been superseded by Exestack. It can be installed here.

byt_pos_0

BytExecutor is a in-studio code executor plugin suited as a free alternative to the more expensive InCommand. It can create, run, and save your multi-lined code from within studio without having to rely on the command bar, sporting an incredibly easy-to-use interface that even a complete noob could understand.

Guide

Upon downloading the plugin, you will need to open the BytExecutor. You will be greeted with this:

byt_pos_2

The topbar has four buttons, 3 on the left and 1 on the right. Clicking the button with the large plus sign creates our “Byt script”, which is what the plugin uses to run code.

The one with a down arrow imports an external script the user has selected in the Explorer into the plugin. When the user is not selecting any scripts, it is disabled.

The two paper icon exports all Byts the user has and parents them to the Instance they selected.

The settings button opens BytExecutor’s settings. It’s pretty obvious.

byt_tut_2

The Byt script has a little clip board icon next to it. That is the execution status of the Byt script. Currently, it is “not running”, but it can be in a variety of other states, such as “running”, “failed”, “terminated”, and “finished”.

byt_pos_5

The plugin automatically opens the script using Studio’s native code editor. If you don’t want Byts to automatically open, you can change this in the settings. To change the name of the Byt script, click its name. Note that BytExecutor only allows alphanumeric (as well as the space and underscore) characters to be used.

byt_pos_6