Custom buttons in the new experience controls

As a Roblox developer, its currently difficult to integrate UIs into the existing topbar UI, this was already shown when the topbar was randomly changed from 36px to 44px.

We did get an API to handle this, but it ran under the assumption that the topbar would remain at a consistent 36px height. Personally, I see this as a hack, but thats not what my request is.

Instead, as a future-proof method, I believe we should be able to add our own buttons into the existing unibar. Lets take a simple example, lets assume we have a game that creates our own backpack system instead of the Roblox one. Right now it’s hardcoded that if we disable the Backpack, it will also hide the unibar button.

This is expected behaviour since the button is connected to Roblox’s own UI, and it’s been disabled, so there’s no reason to show this button, but, as a developer, I cant add my own backpack button here to replace it, instead, I have to render it next to the unibar as a whole, which can create non-future proof implementation.

It would also reduce friction to a player, if I can simply add my own Backpack button here to replace Roblox’s one, the player would see the button and have it work as expected, we already somewhat have this with CoreChatConnections, but I wonder why this wasn’t expanded into a fully featured API.

My request here is that there should be a SetCore method for adding my own buttons the unibar. With this request, I can simply add the Backpack button back, or any other feature that may be useful having up here, for other examples, a shop, leaderboard or game menu.

If Roblox are to address this feature request, it would improve my experience as it would

1. reduce friction to a user since the buttons can be replaced that are otherwise disabled by SetCore