Developers are not equipped to deal with exploiters

This is not a post about anti-cheats or the technical aspects of exploiting and exploit prevention. This is a post targeting the severe lack of tooling and support provided by Roblox in regards to exploiting and dealing with generally abusive users.

I would encourage readers to share their own testimonials and experiences with exploiters. The intent of this post is to vent frustrations and bring awareness to an ever worsening issue, not to serve as a hub for advice on dealing with these issues. Please considering making proper tutorial posts in #resources:community-tutorials instead.

EDIT: This was moved to the feature requests section and some people may not be able to reply. Sorry!

My background

I have been playing and making games on the platform for almost 10 years. I have developed and assisted in developing multiple large games as well as a number of smaller projects. Over the years I have connected with developers in every field and I’ve been lucky enough to participate in the Accelerator program twice.

I have invested a lot into this platform both personally and professionally, both a developer and as a user. I am by no means an authority on exploiting and moderation but I am somebody with years of hands on experience tackling these issues as a developer.

My current project (at the time of writing this) is a 100 Robux paid access game with a relatively small average player count (~200). It’s a zombie survival game with some perma-death mechanics. Our ban statistics for the last ~1 year are as follows:

• September 2021: 390 bans by moderators, 252 bans by anti-cheat
  • October 2021: 427 bans by moderators, 246 bans by anti-cheat
  • November 2021: 409 bans by moderators, 297 bans by anti-cheat
  • December 2021: 433 bans by moderators, 404 bans by anti-cheat
  • January 2022: 370 bans by moderators, 531 bans by anti-cheat
  • February 2022: 403 bans by moderators, 424 bans by the anti-cheat