How can I improve my door model?

Hello,

I’m relatively new to building - I’ve always sucked at building and modelling and the like, but I decided to take matters into my own hands, and I’m working on creating my passion project. I’d like some feedback on one of my first ever proper builds for it - a padded cell. Note that this is potentially the place where the player will enter when they are teleported out of the Lobby.

In particular, how can I make the door stand out more? Should I scale it in a certain direction? A door handle? Different colours (please specify what sort of colours)?

Also, is there anything else I can do to the actual room itself? I’m using ShadowMap for the lighting, and I don’t really know enough about building to know if the room looks good or not.

I’m quite new to this so please give harsh but constructive criticism. I’m relatively proud of it for a first go, but do be aware that I did use a speedbuild for referencing.

5 Likes

So the White part with a window is a door? If so, it looks like an impossible to reach doggy door. Make it taller.

2 Likes

The door is that part and the 4 squares underneath it. Should I just remove those 4 squares? Here is what it looks like with those 4 squares removed and a bit of furnishing:
But now, how do I fill in that empty white space? What can I change?

2 Likes

Maybe a line around the window, a doorknob, and hinges.

2 Likes

That was a great change, I really like the design of it now! Any other changes?

I feel like colourwise it could do a bit better - any suggestions?

5 Likes

I feel that the colors of the outline are too dark for the door itself. I’d recommend lightening the outline or darkening the door, which I feel would be better to darken the door so sticks out and does not match the wall color so much (more specifically instead of using brick colors that Roblox provides, use the color3 value and slide the brightness slider down on the side).

3 Likes