How many parts is "too many"? When is geometry optimization overkill?

For context - I’m looking to optimize a game to run on all devices without using StreamingEnabled.

• The game runs well on all devices currently
  • I currently have about 3.6K parts, but I could definitely reach 5-10K parts when finished
  • The game in question uses minimal physics and almost all parts are anchored
  • I use parts sparingly - I’ve already cut down on unnecessary bricks as best as possible
  • I would prefer to not split my game into separate places as teleporting has been very iffy recently

From your experience as a developer, I also pose the following questions:

What part count is when performance noticeably suffers?
  • <5K
  • 5-10K
  • 10-25K
  • 25K+

0 voters

What part count is when crashes frequently occur?
  • <5K
  • 5-10K
  • 10-25K
  • 25K+

0 voters

Does StreamingEnabled alleviate crashing and performance issues?
  • Yes
  • No

0 voters

Looking for advice and insight on this. Given all of the above - do I even need to worry?

1 Like

I don’t think the quantity of parts matter, but the count of triangles being drawn. A mesh can kill more than a simple BasePart can do… if the collision set is precise.

Right. For context then, very minimal meshes and meshparts. Talking mainly primitives (parts, wedges, corner wedges, trusses).

You can try some building techniques to overlap a part over another if they are exactly of the same properties and aligned in any axis. This technique is applicable as long it is not simply destructible. Other than that, depending on density of placement, this will cause lag if very dense.

2 Likes

I tend to stray away from overlapping to avoid z-fighting. I’m also curious if that truly saves geometry - as both parts are still there and are presumably rendered.