Liftoff - A Case Study

Introduction

I’d like to preface this by saying that I’m no top developer by any means. But because of the experiences I’m about to go through, I think I’ve taken the first step of many in that path. Let’s begin.

This is a case study of my game Liftoff – what went well, and more importantly, what didn’t. I think it’s a great example of what not to do (and some good things too) when developing a game, and this information could probably help a lot of new devs out who are trying to release their first game. In this post I’ll go through my experience starting from the very beginning of Liftoff’s lifespan straight to the end, detailing everything that we did along the way.

(Note: when I say ‘we’ I mean my development team)

Beginning Development

First things first, we started developing Liftoff solely because we didn’t have anything else to develop. At the time, we were working on a far larger game and a ton of work had been done under my account. My account had been falsely terminated and we were scared we would lose all of our progress. During the appeal time, we did some thinking and decided we should start small before going in on a large game so that we could gain experience and funding for a larger project.

That was probably one of the best ideas ever. A lot of devs try to go straight into huge and awesome games, lacking experience and funding. If they can actually go through and finish development, they’re left in an extremely unknown environment that requires quick adaption which can be exhausting. It’s far better to start small to get this experience first so that you know what lies ahead.

Anyway, some time around early May we began work on Liftoff. I’ll skip ahead to some key points, because the rest is just pure development timem.

During Development

Being a small dev team (literally 2 people) with no funding, we did tons of research about the best way to build exposure for a game. The overwhelming consensus was to use Twitter.