Players pushed out of vehicles?

I’ve been developing some vehicles for my upcoming game, Demolition Crew, and I’m experiencing strange collision issues. Sometimes after using a vehicle, players are thrust out of the cockpit and are violently pushed away if they attempt to jump inside. I’m relatively new to developing vehicles and I have no idea what is going on. Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks!

3 Likes

Fairly common issue.

Setting the network ownership to the the player usually solves any issues.

1 Like

I see. I added this line of code for when you first enter the vehicle, with script.Parent being the vehicle seat:

script.Parent:SetNetworkOwner(player)

Unfortunately, I’m still experiencing issues with the vehicles.

I also used SetNetworkOwnerShipAuto() for when the player exits the vehicle. Is there anything else I should check for or do?

I did some more tinkering and it seems making the vehicle not parented to the player once the player exits fixed the collision issue.

I’m actually having the same issue. Are you using PGS? I’m not on PGS, but the cars are parented to the character and the player’s flung whenever they touch the car, or even sometimes when the car’s touched by something else. It has to be coming from parenting or PGS because if you said network ownership didn’t work, those are the only other 2 things our vehicles have in common.

Side note: Our cars are using ball-shaped wheels with non-mesh bodies. Usually they’re <200 parts but really they’re just in that range somewhere.

Edit: Could this be a bug report? In your second gif, the wrecking ball physics seem to be applying to your character.

2 Likes

I thought it was the wrecking ball for a while as well. I removed the entire top half of the vehicle and I still had the same issue of players being pushed before I changed the parenting.