Release Notes for 633

It’s here! Don’t forget to also check out the release notes for 632.

29 Likes

This is my first time hearing about this file extension, what is it?

10 Likes

it’s a file extension used when saving and objects to a file. It’s similar to rbxl, but for objects instead of whole places

Fun fact, you can rename the file extension from rbxm to rbxl, and it’ll become a place with the object in the file parented to game

Edit

I read it wrong… my bad

But the file doesn’t exist anyway, and is a typo

7 Likes

Oh, so it was a typo? I thought they literally meant rbxml which I thought was a whole different file extension, turns out they just meant rbxm.

@EndlessSashimi Sorry for mentioning, but is that actually a typo or something else? Since it’s my first time hearing about that extension.

7 Likes

Yep, it’s a typo. Thanks for pointing it out – I’ll get it sorted. :+1:

9 Likes

It was intended to be “rbxlx/rbxmx”. That’s an alternative xml format you can choose when saving to file.

5 Likes

Is there a specific reason for this? I don’t understand

4 Likes

There must have been a habit of most developers back then to parent things to this service when they needed to be hidden. Some old admin systems do this, so it will create the warning.

3 Likes

It seems that this link is to the 632 release notes rather than 633 :sweat_smile:

6 Likes

Some backdoors like to parent their remotes to it because its contents replicate.

Other services that are commonly used include FriendService, InsertService, MarketplaceService and TestService.

5 Likes

Can we have some examples of what’s affected by this? I was bit by this several times for a whole bunch of properties but I don’t want to spend a bunch of time going back to try to figure out which ones I had to write ugly workarounds for.

7 Likes

When Editable Meshes will be on client?

2 Likes

There’s a really annoying new bug in studio which has reared its head, now.