Roblox Clothing Overall Guide | Paint.net [OUTDATED - JAN 2024]

Introduction

So, I am making more tutorials on this forum. As a clothing designer I struggled to get started since there was not any modern guides that really go in depth with the basics, terminology and the advanced stuff. Here I will hopefully cover all of that.

Of course I will answer any questions in the replies of this post, and I will keep it up to date as much as I can. If you see that I missed something, you can let me know and I will add it.

The Basics

The Basics

The basics will be explaining what programs to use, the difference between softline and hardline and how to use the templates

Programs

So, there is a bunch of programs you can use and I will list them.

PC [Win/Mac]:

Paint. net

( A really simple program that I will be using for this guide)

Adobe Photoshop
GIMP
Paint 3D

Mobile [Android/IOS]:
ibis Paint X [Most Popular]
Pixel StudioPreformatted text

Templates

So roblox offers a basic template used for shirts and pants, we will take that one and trow it straight into the garbage can. Templates are always the same, they will be used for all types of clothing and they can be customized to display the designer’s side art or what ever they want to put there.

Keep in mind that the background of the template will be looked at when uploading an clothing asset and can result in a punishment by Roblox if deemed inappropriate.

I will be explaining how to use this template later, but here is how it should go on a ‘showcase template’

And here is how a normal showcase template would look like:

And that pretty much covers the usage of templates.

Softline and Hardline

So, the clothing/asset types are always divided by them being softline or hardline.

These two are a form of ‘drawing’ and appearance, hardline will always be black and the details will just have a different opacity, while softline will have colored lines with the details being darker or lighter than the base color.