Simpler part movement in server scripts - Kinematic

(Background - at this point, I am a somewhat seasoned roblox developer - this post comes from my experience teaching others how to use the platform…)

Currently, in roblox, it is too hard for novice users to build multiplayer experiences that are not jittery and glitchy feeling if they need to move objects around.

This can be traced back to that doing the simplest possible thing in code to manipulate the world is unfortunately, right now, not the correct thing to do - when perhaps it should be?

Consider the following server script:

local part = script.Parent
local startPos = part.Position
part.Anchored = true

game["Run Service"].Heartbeat:Connect(function()
    local sinWave = math.sin(tick()) * 5 
    part.Position = startPos + Vector3.new(0, sinWave, 0)
end)

What this script does should be obvious to even people coming from off-platform - it takes a part, anchors it, and then on Heartbeat makes it bob up and down. (you could use a while(true) loop, too)
But right now in roblox if you applied this to a server script, several things would be wrong with it:

1. the part would be replicated to all clients at 20hz, making them look unsmooth
  2. if a player tried to stand on the part, they would not move correctly
  3. if it touches other physics parts, they will not move correctly either

(not smooth and other parts dont interact properly)
serverMovingPlatform1

Here is the official roblox way to make this work smoothly, in as few steps as possible:

local localAttachment = Instance.new("Attachment")
localAttachment.Parent = part

local worldAttachment = Instance.new("Attachment")
worldAttachment.Parent = game.Workspace.Terrain  -- Aww come on, seriously...

local alignPosition = Instance.new("AlignPosition")
alignPosition.Parent = part
alignPosition.RigidityEnabled = true
alignPosition.Attachment0 = localAttachment
alignPosition.Attachment1 = worldAttachment