Volumetric Lighting in REALTIME with beams!

Hello! I would like to showcase my volumetric lighting system. It uses beams and works in real-time. I’ll probably release it as a plugin.
Sorry for bad quality, I used the built-in video recorder.

Or you can try out the demo game:

Share what you think in the replies, have a good day!

51 Likes

Great work man, I’d love to have something like this in plugin

8 Likes

LightUp! The perfect plugin to fix your lighting - Help and Feedback / Creations Feedback - DevForum | Roblox

5 Likes

It looks quite promising, but I’m not a lighting expert by any means unfortunately.

I’ll leave @A_SquaredAnimations to have a say on this.

5 Likes

LightUp uses another volumetric fog technique. I will add this one too!

2 Likes

Hello!
I’ve released a small test game you can try:

2 Likes

Looks really good, this take on volumetric lighting has shadows that are very defined, as compared to volumetric lighting that is faked with parts. Though I think it would be better to have beams that are rotated in increments and stay still rather than having them face the camera so the jagged edges aren’t present. Really great stuff though!

also thank you @KristinaMoment for letting me know about this :]

4 Likes

this looks promising! how is it for performance on lower end devices? if im not mistaken its just creating a lot of beams with varying transparency to make the effect? if not then I have no clue what black magic this is lol. but nonetheless this is a huge step in the roblox volumetric lighting direction!

2 Likes

I really liked this demo, the light/shadow effects are fantastic!
I would add some general fog / smoke effect around to create some mistery feeling to the playgound :slight_smile:

1 Like

The beam works great, but it just looks like a smoke emitter.

1 Like

I don’t know how it works on lower end devices. I’m doing my best to fix every performance issue! And yes, it’s a log of beams.