Why does my mesh seem to disappear at certain angles?

This is my first time making a mesh and i wanted to make a tree mesh. I tried out blender and I experimented with it and I have created one and have added it to studio. I want the tree to look full of leaves but for some reason the bottom of the mesh doesn’t exist as if it was 2d shape on one side. I want the leaves to be seen at every angle.

Here is what’s happening:

This problem could be that the mesh is not rendered properly.

The leaves have only one face so the normals can only point upwards, and the bottom looks transparent. Add the solidify modifier for the leaves in blender. However, since that’s 3 more faces per leaf, this method of making trees is inadvisable as it reduces game performance a lot unless it’s for showcases.

1 Like

look up backface culling on google

I put that in but now it won’t let me add it into Roblox since it has too many triangles… Any suggestions?

Lessen the Tris of whichever has the most? Or change something that feels like won’t be noticed at some short.

:rotating_light: :rotating_light: STOP SUGGESTING THE SOLIDIFY MODIFIER :rotating_light: :rotating_light:

This is the worst thing you can do to solve this problem because you’re effectively ADDING 5 FACES FOR EVERY FACE, or in more technical terms, if the foliage sheet is comprised of a square (two tris), you’ll be added five additional squares (10 tris) because Solidify will turn it into a cube (six squares total, obviously).

It’s also known as a destructive workflow because once you apply the modifier it’s a huge pain in the ass to undo.

Before Solidify on a Plane
After Solidify on a Plane.

DON’T USE SOLIDIFY UNLESS YOU NEED TO.

:sparkles: Instead :sparkles:

1. Select your foliage sheets in Object mode

2. duplicate the Object

3. Select one of the two, then in Edit mode, select the geometry

4. Press F3, and type “Flip Normals”, and press Enter.