Audio Permissions : Audio should automatically work in any experience under the group it was uploaded to

As a Roblox developer, I rely on the expectation that audio will work in my experience after I’ve uploaded it. This expectation however is broken with the current behavior of audio permissions.

Currently, if audio is uploaded, it has to be manually whitelisted in all experiences you want to use it in, even if those experiences are under the same group the audio was uploaded to! This is extremely time consuming and problematic to my workflow, as someone who has multiple universes for a single game (production & test environments).

Audios that are uploaded to a group should automatically work in any experience under that group. While we do have the “whitelist all” feature when publishing a place file from studio, my workflow does not involve manual publishing. I instead invoke cloud APIs to publish my places, meaning I cannot make use of this feature.

If Roblox were to make audios automatically work in any experience under the same group / owner account, this would improve dev productivity significantly as I wouldn’t have to manually whitelist all of my game’s environments for every single audio I upload.

67 Likes

Hi Noble_Draconian,

Thanks for request this and agree that the behavior needs to be improved here. The reason we by default don’t allow audio to be used in the owner’s experience is we wanted to prevent leaks where e.g. a bad actor guesses an assetId and loads it within an experience to preview it before the publisher is ready to share that asset with the world. But we need to figure out a way to prevent leaks that doesn’t disrupt your workflows. I’ll talk to the team and see what we can do here.

25 Likes

Yes, please. The amount of updates we’ve rolled out only to learn the audio wasn’t approved for our players… Can really bomb a planned release if you don’t check for it.