Vehicle to Vehicle Collisions

(Forgive me if this is the wrong section, this is my first time posting on the DevFourm :slight_smile:)

What do you want to achieve?

Functional and (somewhat) realistic vehicle to vehicle collision interactions between A-Chassis vehicles.

What is the issue?

VISION LAG. This has been discussed before on the forums, but mostly in late 2022. This post from @GeorgeOfAllTrades very clearly demonstrates my issue.

*What solutions have you tried so far? Did you look for solutions on the Developer Hub?

Again, most of the threads contain outdated solutions, some of which even utilize now deprecated physics properties. I am mainly curious if anyone has found a solution to this in the modern ro-racing community.

Caveats:

• Yes, I am aware tank chassis exists, no, it does not work for my purposes.
  • From what I have read, giving network ownership to the server does not work with A-Chassis and is too slow from a performance standpoint to be viable anyway.

Some related articles
These are some of the older threads I talked about earlier, might be useful in the solution.

1 Like

vision lag usually happens due to code that handles visual things is on the server, just fire the front end part for all clients and the back end part handle it on the server. like calculations and allat keep it on the server but changing cframe or everything that is visible in the 3d world handle it on client

Thanks for the insight, but I don’t think this is quite what I’m looking for. A-Chassis by default handles car movements on the client.

The actual issue is detailed in this older post that I mentioned in the message: Cars Predictive Pathing

Essentially:

Three players in a server, let’s say two are in a car and one is in the grandstands of our hypothetical racetrack.

Driver 1 sees themself in the lead, with Driver 2 trailing about a car’s length behind.
Driver 2 sees themself in the lead, with Driver 1 trailing about a car’s length behind.