How do I create this blur effect in GUI?

Dear Devforum members,
I am a UI designer creating UI since 2017 and I am currently making a new design in ROBLOX inspired by Microsoft’s Fluent Design which features a blurred background.

The problem is I do not want to use Neon parts for blurring it. I have seen someone made blurred background in ROBLOX.

If you don’t understand what I am saying, take a look of the picture:

If you know how to make this, please tell me. Thank you :slight_smile:

Best regards,
ManamiWasThere

6 Likes

Unfortunately, you can’t use blur on ScreenGuis. I believe the only approach to this would be having to use neon parts or making a blurred image with Photoshop.

This post might be helpful.

2 Likes

Unfortunately , I do believe I seen someone blur on screengui without using neon parts

2 Likes

It’s pretty much one of the only ways to create the effect you’re looking for, you probably wouldn’t notice the neon parts since they’re usually scaled to a relatively small size and placed directly in front of the camera.

1 Like

What I found ^

2 Likes

Would it work if I am making the frame draggable?

1 Like

You could by CFraming the parts on every frame but there probably is a better way to achieve the desired effect I myself don’t know about.

1 Like

I tried using a viewportframe and a neon part, didn’t work for me, maybe it will for you. However I found that using glass material and messing with the reflectiveness & transparency can give off a nice glass overlay effect.

2 Likes

I’ll try that method, thank you.

1 Like

I know I’m late, but maybe you could add the Blur to the Camera (local of course), and adjust it when needed.

Pros: Gives you a dynamic-blur.
Cons: Blur is on the whole screen, and is not a GUI.
(Won’t blur GUIs, but you can add transparency to the GUI to make it look somewhat blurry too.
However, if you’re just looking for a blurry background, then I’d definitely go for the “BlurEffect”)

4 Likes