I usually do scripting, but i have decided to start trying something different for once. Thoughts on this build so far? (Very early on.)

Hello there!
Recently, I decided to try something new. I usually play around with scripts and other things, such as UI design, but today, I tried my hand at starting building. This is in no way even close to finished, but I am building a 70’s styled neon cafe, as a showcase, or vibe, whatever you want it to be.

Here is my work so far as well as reference image:

Reference Image:
image_2021-09-08_135635
My work so far (Keep in mind I do not usually do building):
neon
I am particularly proud of these blinds. Not sure why, but I think I did pretty well on them.
blinds
Also going to give a pic of the interior so far, because why not? I am aware it is bare, but I’ve just started.
image_2021-09-08_140006
All in all quite proud of this, especially considering this is my first time making a larger-scale detailed build. Updates will come over time; And any feedback or tips are appreciated.
Thanks!

Update: A little extra work goes a long way. I spent about 20 minutes making this sign and using Union/negate on it, but it is well worth it, and I have learned a ton. Here, you can see the sign partially:
image_2021-09-08_161212
I have decided it will be called “Cafe 67”.

14 Likes

the text is too uh cartoony, the walls are undetailed, the neon lights are too bright

3 Likes

Thank you for your feedback! Since I have never done a bigger build like this before, any and all feedback helps me out a lot. Firstly, I have just changed the sign’s font, and now it looks less cartoony. I do agree that it did look cartoony there, and so I have changed it.