As we move forward as a platform, we sometimes need to reevaluate our existing features. Now that we have sunsetted Leaderboards and Player Points, Clans no longer contribute to the Roblox Groups experience.
Clans were an invite-only part of a group with a maximum of 100 members. Each game had a Player Points leaderboard, and the points earned by each member were added to the Clan’s score in that game. It was also possible to invite an entire Clan to a VIP server.
Removing Clans will enable us to focus on improving the core experience of Roblox Groups and adding new features.
When will the Clans feature be removed?
Within the next couple of days. We will update this post when the feature is removed.
The Clans feature is now removed.
What about the Robux that I spent purchasing a Clan?
All users who purchased Clans will receive a refund. If the Clan was purchased with group funds, the refund will be deposited into group funds. Please allow some time for this to happen.
Refunds were distributed on March 4, 2019.
I am a developer and I use GroupService:GetGroupsAsync to check if a player is in a clan. What do I need to do?
No changes are needed, just be aware that when Clans are completely removed, these checks will return false.