Texture Translucency Controls

Currently on Roblox, it’s impossible to indicate how texture translucency should be handled, which means games often lose out on large amounts of performance and have to deal with depth sorting errors unnecessarily.

(disclaimer: I’m not a graphics engineer, so everything in this post is based on my (limited) understanding of how the Roblox rendering system works based on my own observations. If any Roblox engineers are here, feel free to provide or correct any details if you’d like!)

This will be a long post, so go grab a snack or something, and enjoy:

The translucent rendering path

We’re all familiar with this effect; it needs no introduction:

As humans, we know the ocean does not belong in a tree. Unfortunately, it’s really hard to communicate that to a computer - translucent depth sorting is a really hard problem in computer graphics. The solution which Roblox (and pretty much any other engine like it) choose to use is called the Painter’s algorithm, where you draw the translucent objects in the scene from back to front. In other words, the translucent objects in the scene will be sorted based on their perpendicular distance from the camera, furthest first.

Usually, this works great! As you can see here, we have two translucent blocks, and from this camera angle, it works well:

Other camera angles are less impressive.

This is where those depth sorting errors come from, like the one in the screenshot at the top of this section. It’s not really ideal, but it’s not easy to fix either. In addition, with the Painter’s algorithm you’re likely going to end up drawing over the same pixels many times, which means bad performance.