Whats the best way to learn lua?

i been working with lua for around 5 months and still dont seem intermediate,how can i improve my skills as a scripter and as a developer

i can make things such as a side scroller camera,shift to sprint,camera mapulation…etc

8 Likes

For me I had an idea of what I’d want to accomplish at the end of a project, I’d then search the Dev forum or wiki for any topics relating to what aspects of the script I didn’t know how to do, for example; I was making a custom name gui that cycled through every colour, I had made the name etc and it all worked well but I had no idea how to change the colour.

Sure enough a found a post relating to a colour changing brick and edited the code for that.

Each project I do, I do less and less searching. It’s all about practise.

11 Likes

Ty so much,how long have you been scripting in lua

Around the time I joined the forum, I’ve been scripting regularly for about 6 months.

1 Like

How would you rate yourself as a script Begineer,Intermediate?

I usually focus on what I struggle with the most. I usually do a small project or have a goal in mind that involves many different applications of terms, ex. a saving inventory. If I find weakpoints, for me were DataStores, I will practice and get more in depth for them. It’s all about how in depth you go is what I have noticed.

6 Likes

I would say intermediate, I wouldn’t class myself as a professional just because there are still aspects I’m not so confident with. But I’m always learning new things which helps.

You should do a lot of projects. For example, create a tank. Maybe you don’t mathematically know how to make a tank, but you should be able to find someone else’s tank through the toolbox, copy the code, and try to implement it yourself. Being able to read and use other peoples’ code is an important skill for developers.