QoL, MipMaps, and Implemenation Features for PBR Materials

Currently, resources for creating lively objects in games in Roblox are limited compared to other platforms. Substances like water, portals, spell shields, toxic waste or animated paint substances are some of the most lively things in a level, empowering the situation. But currently this is hard or not realistically achievable for many prime use cases.

As a developer, I want a system that allows me to provide different images per Mip level on PBR Materials, as well as the ability to use basic modifiers or passes on material textures through the material service pipeline to produce novel, native, realtime results.
Disclaimer: material service and PBR materials do not exist yet per say, but Roblox is investigating them and I wish this feature (set) to be considered while they’re working on it.

This would improve the developer situation as the next step to the universalization of what a part can become, in the nature of Avatar Evolution and the Future is Bright releases. Ultimately, this is the philosophy of “giving power to the developer”, which is one to keep Roblox competitive and allow for more lively and significant objects than ever before.

For the leading use case, a gameplay-altering body of water. That is, one that honours equality of gameplay at all quality levels. This is not conventionally achievable with terrain water, where as mentioned[1] cross-platform limitations prevent the underwater shaders.

The baseline being:

MipMapWater
combining two scrolling mipmap textures and passing that to an alpha test

Quite clearly, and immediately, this opens up entirely new doors to what developers could do. But as I explored the forum I realized this was even more a topic standin for a variety of requests concerning the convergent matter of material service.