Real world building and scripting optimization for Roblox

This is a guest article from a community expert. We hope you enjoy it!

Introduction

Hi, I’m Peter “@MrChickenRocket” McNeill. I’ve been a game developer for over 25 years now, and I have spent a lot of time building games, engines and renderers.

I worked on Fruit Ninja, Jetpack Joyride, Candy Crush and a bunch of other mobile phone games and their engines, so mobile performance and optimisation is something I’ve gotten pretty good at.

With Roblox, I’ve released a handful of my own games and projects, and from time to time I consult with some very talented games teams to help make their games run better.

Usually this involves doing performance profiling, assessing their game world and assets, and making suggestions on how they can do the same things they’re already doing, but in more efficient ways.

What I did for this article is build a Roblox game using good building practices, and then optimized the heck out of it for great performance on all Roblox platforms, but especially mobile.

I’ll start off by showing you how to health check your own projects, explain some of the theory behind it, and then we’ll go on a tour of some real-world trickery and techniques you can use to make your own projects run faster.

The example game is called Cardboard Box Simulator, and it should look somewhat familiar to you if you’ve ever played BIG Games’ “pet simulator” series of games. (Shoutout to Preston for being a good sport about this!)

Cardboard Box Simulator is a demo of a simulator game, with the now-standard squiggly map layout, lots of pets, lots of coins, and plenty of new art and themes per area.

Project Highlights

• Rendering and CPU usage are optimized so that it runs on most phones at graphics quality 10 at 60 FPS (frames per second)
  • Dense, interesting looking map, with lots of details and fairly high quality assets
  • ShadowMap lighting technology, so there are nice shadows and lighting