rParticle: The light weight, open source, GUI particle system

Hi, this is my first time making an Open Source project, so please feel free to give me lots of constructive criticism. :grin: :grin:

Recently updated to version 1.2.1 Release rParticle 1.2.1 · joeldesante/rParticle · GitHub | 5/6/2022

rParticle

The Light Weight, Open Source, GUI Particle System.
Source Code | Download | Docs

What is rParticle?

rParticle is a small module (around 80 lines of code) which was made with the sole intention of allowing developers to quickly and easily make 2D GUI particle systems.

rParticle is set up in such a way that basically all of the particle “logic” is handled by the creator while the tracking, updating, data, and “rendering” of the particles are handled by the module.

How do I use rParticle?

It is my opinion that rParticle is exceedingly easy to use. I was able to create the following effect in only ~28 lines of code:

Here is how this 3D Gui particle effect is done:

Step 1: Install rParticle

Just download the module and put it somewhere that you can easily access it. I tend to put mine in ReplicatedStorage.

Step 2: Create your particle

rParticle was created to give as much control over the particle as possible to the developer. This means that the particle can be (for the most part) any GUI Object (ie Frame, Button, TextLabel, ViewportFrame, etc…)

In this example, I created a ViewportFrame called ParticleVP.
Inside of this ViewportFrame I placed a model of my character and a LocalScript.

The contents of the local script are:

local RunService = game:GetService("RunService")
local Model = script.Parent.Yooogle
local part = Model.HumanoidRootPart
local Viewport = script.Parent

local Camera = Instance.new("Camera")
Camera.Parent = Viewport

Viewport.CurrentCamera = Camera

RunService.RenderStepped:Connect(function(delta)
	Camera.CFrame = CFrame.new(part.CFrame.p + Vector3.new(-5,3,5), part.Position)