How to Make a GFX Course: Part 1, Basics of GFX and Tips

Hello, I have been rendering in Blender for 4 years and I have done GFX for 7 months, and in this course I will teach you what you should do, and what you shouldn’t do, along with some common beginner mistakes. If you disagree on a certain topic, please bring it up in the comments. With that being said, let’s get started!
DOs

• Make your scene detailed
    This one basically describes itself. If your scene doesn’t look detailed, then people are going to look away from it within seconds because it will look boring. You can have as good of a composition as you would like, but it would still look terrible without detail. For example, make sure to use a bump map and a displacement map on a brick texture.
  • Make sure your scene tells a story
    I have seen one mistake beginners have done, where they just put a render of a Roblox avatar, add a background, and then put the logo. I don’t agree with this art style. What I like to do is make my scene tell a story. For example, if you are making a GFX for a hotel, show a happy customer talking to the check in person. Or, if you are making a GFX for a prison game, show a high tension scene where the police and the criminal are in a fight.
  • The scene should look immersive
    It’s hard to describe this, but a good scene will kind of suck you in. It will make you look at the image for a long time, and it will direct your eyes towards certain objects in a way which the artist intended. (I studied traditional art so I use this concept a lot in my traditional art.)
  • Try experimenting with materials
    Materials can help make your surface look detailed and look nice. Add a bump texture, displacement, roughness, ambient occlusion, or anything else to make it look as nice as possible. I get my materials from corona-materials.de since I use Cinema 4D with Corona Render, but another good source is polligon.com if you are using Blender.
  • Focus on the lighting